Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit September 15, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
  I might be able to come babysit one weeknight evening per week, but not on Wednesdays and not in the ice and snow.  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
Laurel B.     Age 68      Female      Ottawa, ON  - 121 Parkdale Avenue
 
Member ID: 387717 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am a great enthusiast for the outdoors, having lived for 5 years in the wilderness of the Yukon, skiied the mountains and trails of Whistler, tumbled through the mountain heather on hikes near Pemberton, climbed the mountains of the North Shore in Vancouver, along the Sea to Sky Highway, in Squamish, and kayaked the coastal waters off the BC coast. I travel around my community on my bicycle during Spring and Summer months.
I love children and have a very close relationship with my grandson, who is out of town and out of country. I have spent the past 3 years as the main caregiver of my grandson, while both parents work full time on their own businesses and during the onset of the pandemic in March. They trust me completely to take my grandson outdoors on excursions and to teach him how to swim.
I just moved to Ottawa, as it is much closer to my family than British Columbia was. Granted, I still miss the mountains and ocean, but I am intrigued with the idea of ice skating on the Rideau Canal and cycling the extensive trail system of The Capital Pathway.
So, I am settling in to the city in September and will be a childcare educator for a family in Ottawa, moving into my permanent home, October 1st.
No sooner than 6 months after my arrival in Ottawa on August 25, I will use the weekends on occasion, to visit my grandson, providing travel is safe.
You will see in my resume that I have extensive experience in Aquatics and in teaching and supervising children in the public schools of B. C. I can send you a copy of my resume on request. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
No 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English, Spanish 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
3 years experience, 3 references
I taught for over 20 years for the Vancouver School Board in British Columbia. I enjoyed teaching P. E. and music classes while I worked as a substitute teacher for the first 2 years. I taught Folk dances, Country dances, the popular Virginia Reel, Square Dance, Maypole Dancing, Chinese Ribbon Dancing, group games, and primary games and songs that had actions, like “The Chicken Dance”. When I subbed, I’d bring along my guitar, and at the end of the day I’d sing popular songs the children could sing along to. I then was hired in no time, to teach music at two elementary schools in the Vancouver School District. I taught Music to all grades; K - 7. I loved teaching in the Elementary Schools.
Now, I still love being with children.
I have extensive experience in Aquatics and in also supervising children in the playgrounds in the public schools of B. C. I love to take children on outdoor adventures (Except very stormy weather) and yes - even in snow. (I owned a condo in Whistler, BC) Mostly, I’ll get your child singing, laughing and having fun and they’ll sleep well, too, because of it. You’ll see. 😆 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses 
I have a Bachelor of Elementary Education from the University of B. C. and Grade 7 Royal Conservatory of Music - Piano certification. Earned my National Lifeguard certification, CPR and St. John’s First Aid, Red Cross Swim Instructors and Royal Lifesaving Society certificates and kept them up to date for over 35 years. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
One child 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 14, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$18/Hour 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Family laundry
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
I could only transport children by walking or cycling with them, to pick them up and walk them home.
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I know many of the names of flowers that bloom in Spring/summer and will share that knowledge with any child who goes on my outside adventures. If you have peanuts on hand that are still in their shells, squirrels love to peel off the shells and crunch on them. 
 
 
  References
 
Ginny Nilsen 
Ginny N I have known Laurel Burrowes for over 30 years when we first worked together at a youth camp in the summers for approx 30 girls on Bowen Island, B.C. We have stayed in close contact ever since, so I am very informed of her fine work as an elementary school music teacher. When she retired, she took up the opportunity to live in, and care for her 3-year old grandson for 6 months out of each year In Boston, MA. I hear frequently about all the activities they do together from music, Spanish, playing at the park, walking the dog, and learning about what they see along the way. Laurel is a hands on and especially perceptive individual to the needs of others. She is willing to help with anything in the home and I know this, and see it because she has vacationed with me over the years. Anyone who knows her knows how loving and conscientious she is and she delights in the growth and individuality of children. 
 
 
Beryl Kusch 
Beryl K Laurel is a very caring, friendly person who would readily give a helping hand to a friend in need. She is hard-working and a very positive person. Laurel is a woman of integrity. She is very loving, supportive and dedicated to her family and friends. I would not hesitate in recommending my friend Laurel for the position as a Nanny.