Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit October 11, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning               
 Afternoon    
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Victoria
 

 

 
 
 
Robin A.     Age 60      Female      Victoria, BC  - Cadboro Bay
 
Member ID: 389559 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am retired from a career in the non-profit sector but would still like to work. When my two boys were little I ran a before and after school daycare for 4 1/2 years so I could be at home with them. I looked after a number of children from 5 to 12 years old and just loved it.

I am married and live with my husband, Gerry, and my dog, Ella. My two sons are now 31 and 26. I live in a townhouse complex in the heart of Cadboro Bay Village with a park in the backyard and Gyro Park and the beach right down the road.

I love crafts and art projects, reading, swimming, walks in nature, playing board and card games, exploring and adventuring. When I had my daycare we were always out and about doing something. Even though I raised two very athletic sons, I am not all that sporty but am a good cheerleader and spectator.

I also do volunteering with Hospice and with a Counselling Centre and have lots of training in these areas. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 0 references
As well as parenting two children, I ran a before and after school daycare for 4 1/2 years when my children were school aged.

I had a very special relationship with the children I was lucky enough to spend time with. In particular we were a very active group (sometimes up to 7 children in my care). After school pickup we would often go to the park to play before heading home for snack. I provided an after school snack daily that consisted of either fruit, veggies and dip, cheese and crackers, etc. (healthy). Please note, I would ensure that the children had actually eaten their own lunches before having this snack as parents weren't too pleased if their child brought their uneaten lunch home.

I arranged for the children to attend swimming lessons and would take them and oversee the process. We would also spend lots of time out in nature on walks/hikes, exploring - Mount Doug Park, Beaver Lake, Elk Lake, Swan Lake, Cedar Hill Chip Trail, Goldstream Park, and lots and lots of beaches, etc.

When the weather was nasty we would go to the library, the museum, nature houses, sometimes watch videos, do a lot of crafts. If homework needed to be done, that was the priority as parents wanted to spend more quality time when they got home and it helped to know that that task was done.

My policy was that when they were with me, it was a safe, inclusive, respectful environment for everyone in the group.

I always tried to tailor my care to the needs of the child - from the very active child who needed a lot of physical activity to the introverted child who needed down time and quiet activities. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
Associates Degree, Bachelor's Degree 
I have a B. A. that includes a minor in Psychology as well as a Certificate of Positive Psychology, extensive training in volunteer counselling and coaching. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Childcare Duties:
   Transporting children
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Help with homework
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 21, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
No 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
None Provided