Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit October 27, 2020 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Ottawa
 

 

 
 
 
Jono H.     Age 53      Male      Ottawa, ON  - Morris St
 
Member ID: 391456 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I have many years experience working with children. From a professional viewpoint, I have been a successful and effective private music teacher for 36 years. (I currently teach 15-20 private students, which is about half what I would teach in a normal year. COVID has had a big impact on music teachers everywhere. ) The majority of my students are aged 6-16; but I have taught individual and group lessons to children as young as 3. I have a Graduate Diploma in Education (qualified as a high-school Music and French teacher in Australia); and am well-formed in educational philosophy and practice. In my life-long role as a church musician and music director, I have worked with children at all stages of life; and also have volunteered in vacation outreach clubs, as a camp counsellor, Sunday School teacher, etc.

Finally - but most importantly - I am proud to say I have raised three amazing young people (now aged 19, 17 & 13); who are compassionate, hard-working, and well-balanced in their approach to life. My wife and I shared the role of parenting our children, as we both worked part-time while they were growing up. I have tons of experience in preparing nutritional meals and snacks, arranging fun and stimlating outings; managing daily routines & schedules (with a mix of physical activity, intellectual stimulation, creative & artistic expression, and down-time); maintaining good behaviour and boundaries; keeping them safe and healthy; etc. And as a parent, I know what it means to entrust precious young lives to another person's care. You can be fully assured I will fulfil my role as caregiver with the utmost diligence and dedication.

In this time of job cutbacks and change in so many people's lives, I am looking for additional employment opportunities to supplement my (reduced) music teaching and church music income. I am healthy, energetic, motivated, and available for full-time work. (Other jobs are part-time, evening work. ) I would be honoured if you would consider me for a caregiving role in the life of your child/children. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, French 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Separated 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Protestant 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
See information on previous page. I have many years experience working with children in a professional and volunteer capacity, and as a parent myself. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, Associates Degree, Bachelor's Degree 
Bachelor of Arts (Hons) - majors in French & Music. - University of Sydney, Australia (1991) Graduate Diploma in Education (high-school; Music & French) - University of Sydney, Australia (1993) Associate of Music of Australia (A. Mus. A) - piano (1985) Master of Theological Studies - Tyndale University Seminary, Toronoto (ongoing) 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
October 07, 2020 
Desired Salary:
$18/Hour 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
 
 
  References
 
Claire Samson 
I was piano teacher to Claire's 3 daughters when they were growing up (and am still her teacher). She can speak to my capacities in interacting with children (in English and French), and her confidence in me as someone to whom she can entrust the care of her children. 
 
 
Rev. Melodee Lovering 
Melodee was the Pastor of Youth and Family Ministries at Parkdale United Church until Oct. 2018. I worked with her as a colleague (in music and arts ministries). She can speak to my capacities in interacting with children and youth; the way I parented my own children; and my professionalism and reliability.