Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit November 30, 2021 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
   
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Vancouver
 

 

 
 
 
Joshua W.     Age 24      Male      Vancouver, BC  - Vanness & Joyce
 
Member ID: 411012 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now to access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello,

My name is Joshua, and I am currently looking for full-time work as a nanny.

I have several years of experience volunteering with children, including experience as a respite caregiver, where I was looking after two children (7-9 and 11-14), one of whom required extra care due to a brain injury. My most recent position was as a School-Age Educator, where I was working with between 20-40 children at a time between the ages of 4 and 15. However, I believe that a more direct, one-on-one approach is extremely valuable for children at this age, and this was an area in which I wanted to be able to work more.

I have an honours degree in psychology from Simon Fraser University, and my specialization was in infant development (my honours thesis was investigating how infants learn that pointing can be a communicative gesture). I have plans to continue my education at graduate school, earning a Psy. D. or Ph. D. in order to become a registered psychologist. This would allow me to start a private practice, working with children who have been exposed to trauma.

My first priority is making sure that there is a connection between me and the family - if either of us feels uneasy about a partnership, there is no way that it can possibly work. I want to make sure that the family, as well as the children, feel comfortable with letting me into their lives.

I am confident in my ability to cook, clean, supervise outings and playdates, feed, bathe, tutor, and any other services that may be required.

As a final note, I understand that a male nanny is somewhat unusual, and may make some employers uncomfortable. I completely understand this, and I am willing to give several references, background checks, and whatever else may put you at ease.

I look forward to connecting with families that need a fun, experienced, and caring nanny for their children.

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Christian 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 4 references
Caregiver 04/2015 – 04/2018
Caring for 2 children, (7-9 and 11-14), one of whom required extra care due to brain injury
Entertaining, cooking meals, tutoring, and administering medication as needed

School-Age Educator 05/2017 – 09/2021
Supervising 20-40 children aged 5-14 in an after-school program
Documenting, incident reports, emergent curriculum planning, and engaging in one-on-one work with children diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder or behavioural issues

Children’s Leader 03/2018 – Present
Supervising up to 12 children aged 1-10
Helping design curriculums to engage children of different cultures, ethnicities, ages, and developmental stages

Group Leader 07/2019 – 07/2019
Leading and supervising typically developing children and children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder through various camp tasks at Simon Fraser University
Ensuring the group remained on schedule, performed the necessary tasks, and remained content throughout the day

Group Leader 04/2015 – Present
Tenth Church. (Vancouver, B. C. )
Leading a group of grade 6-11 boys weekly
Developing their faith and their interpersonal relationships with each other
Providing mentoring and life advice whenever needed
Attending monthly meetings with other group leaders and supervisors

Volunteer 2011 – 2014
Let’s Give Them Hope, Zimbabwe.
Volunteering at a feeding program, involving cooking and preparing meals, distributing the food, and helping with clean-up
Running “Sports Days, ” in which a variety of activities were set up for the children to enjoy, as well as some light-hearted competition
Mentoring young men and educating them on gender stereotypes, in addition to helping with any issues at home or in their personal lives
Leading fitness workshops, wherein anyone could learn the basics of Shotokan Karate
Teaching Bible School lessons to younger children
Helping to plan events at Christmas, where hundreds of people from surrounding villages would show up for a hot meal, and assisting with electronic setup

Volunteer 2010 – 2011
Kibaale Community Center, Uganda.
Volunteering at a community center, teaching children to read in English

Volunteer 2009 – 2010
Hands at Work, South Africa.
Volunteering at various programs for children without homes or resources
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
Bachelor's Degree, First Aid Training 
I completed an honours degree in psychology, with distinction. My overall GPA was 3. 96, and my upper-division GPA was 4. 09. My specialization was infant development, and my thesis was titled: Do Babies Get the Point? The Role of Non-Communicative Index Finger Extension in the Development of Pointing. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Nanny/Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
November 23, 2021 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour 
Will work at night:
No 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
 
 
  References
 
Ayesha Namiranian 
September 19th, 2021 To Whom It May Concern, I'm writing to recommend Josh Wiebe. I've worked with Josh for the past four years at Vancouver Society of Children’s Centres; for two of those years, he was my colleague and my direct support in the before and after school programs. For the remaining year, I was his direct supervisor. Through those different roles and relationships, I really got an insight into how dedicated and passionate he is about the work he does. In the time I've known him, Josh has consistently been a strong employee — capable of taking control of big projects and executing to the fullest. As well, he's a pleasure to work with. Josh is positive & cheerful in the face of daunting deadlines and he’s always available to lend a hand to co-workers when necessary or needed. Rarely do you come across someone who is talented at both big picture ideas and executing the small details — Josh is just that person. As an educator, he creates a safe and welcoming environment where students and families feel confident in the teachings and support that Josh provides. His activities & lesson plans are thoughtful and with intent, with relationship and trust at the forefront of his classroom. I believe Josh would be a great fit for any positions he so chooses to take on. I highly recommend Josh as an addition to your team. he would be an asset to any organization or private employer. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you have any further questions. Kindest Regards, Ayesha Namiranian [ Email: Ayeshanamiranian4@gmail.com ] [ Phone:604-767-0392 ] 
 
 
David Gotts 
David is a family friend and someone who I worked for as a respite caregiver.