Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
  Last Visit December 12, 2018 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
  My ideal position would be 4 days a week, or a job with some flexibility to accommodate my elderly parents needs for dr appointments  
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Calgary
 

 

 
 
 
This Job seeker already found a Job and not available for Job Offers
Join now and get access to thousands care providers and housekeepers in your area.
 
  About Me
 
My name is Lysa and I have worked as a nanny for the better part of the last 20 years. I originally attended university with the intention of becoming a sociologist, but found working as a nanny suited my personality and life style.
I have a firm believe that my job is to compliment the philosphies put forth by the parents. I will maintain the routines and parenting styles set forth by the employer. I do enjoy being a part of helping a child reach their potential, but always in a way that is accepted by the parents.
My personal interests are varied. I enjoy reading and crafts, as well as camping and hiking. I have been employed as a horseback riding instructor in the past as well as a camp counsellor. I enjoy doing anything new though I am not a fan of high-risk activities.
I would definitely describe myself as easy-going and generally nice. I am compassionate and gentle and seldom raise my voice. I have a firm moral code and an excellent work ethic. I interact exceedingly well with children of all temperaments and I do genuinely enjoy watching them learn about the world and mastering new skills.
Working as a nanny has taught me that patience is definitely one of my virtues and that every day will bring at least one surprise. I hope that I will be able to obtain a new position as a nanny as it is a job that I find thoughly enjoyable. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Police Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in Canada:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
No Religion 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
The first family I worked for had a boy aged 18m and a girl age 5, I took the girl to the bus stop every morning and then did a variety of activies with the little boy. We went to the local Ontario Early Years Center, story time at the local library and attended several drop in groups as well. At home we worked on age appropriate goals (colours, number alphabet ect). I helped the little girl with any homework and aslo attended the local Sparks group with her. In the house I was responsible for feeding the children and the dog as well as keeping the house tidy. I worked for this family for 2 years and have excellent reference from them

The second family I worked for had a little girl 18m. a boy age 5 and a second boy age 7. This family provided a family owned vehicle allowing me to drive the children to and from school. I also took the little girl to activites such as Mom and Me Swimming, gymnastics and story times. I prepared the childrens meals, kept the house tidy and did the childrens laundry. During the summer I took all 3 children to everything from soccer camp to day trips to local provincial parks. I also worked for this family for 2 years and also have excellent references.

I have worked for 2 families with twins on a part-time or as-needed basis. Most of the care was kept strictly in the home or the surrounding area. It also included meal preparation and tidying up after the children. I have lost contact with the one family, but the second one will provided an excellent reference.

Another family I have worked for in a long term basis was after school care for a set of 6y old triplets and their 9y old sibling. Most activites were done in the home area, but there was occasional outings. This job involved home work supervision and some limited dinner prep for the family. I also did the kids laundry.

I have worked as an occasional sitter for a 10m old boy, a family with 2 young boys and one other family with four girls. It was simple child-care that was based in home and did not involve any additional responsibilities.

I worked for a family where the wife was on Maternity Leave. I watched their identical twin boys for two half days and sometime two full days per week. The boys were four months when I stated and we're eleven months old when she returned to work. I was responsible for feeding the boys, changing diapers, putting them down for naps, and as they got older providing a stimulating environment for them. I enjoyed helping them to reach all of their milestones, and cannot belive that they went from helpless infants to active crawlers in such a short period of time.

After working for the family where the wife was on Maternity Leave I was employed by a single father with 4 year old twins. I watched the boys for full days on M, W and every other Friday and provided before and after school care on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. On non-school days I provided meals, took the boys to parks and activities and kept the house generally tidy. This job ended when the family moved due to a change in employment.

My most recent position has been working as a full-time nanny for a family with 3 boys (6 years old and 3 year old twins). I take the oldest boy to school and take the twins to various drop-in locations, activities and parks. I provided meals and do some light housekeeping. On occasion I provided evening care so the parents could go on 'date nights' or overnight care so they could have a weekend to themselves. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I have my bachelors degrees in both sociology and English. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
transport them to activites as well with a family owned vehicle
 
Desired Start Date:
November 30, 2018 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour or $1800 - $2000/month 
Will work at night:
Yes 
Willing to relocate:
No 
Will care Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I have a CRC that is less than 2 years old. I have had my First Aid and CPR. I have a wide variety of qualifications that I obtained during my time as a leader with both Girl Guides and Scouts Canada (Stage 1 leadership, High Five training, Core Leadership 1 ect. )