Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: 4 Days ago  
 
 
 
 
Work Schedule
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Senior Care on Multi-Generational Farm - Live In - Full Apartment Provided  Job ID: 132818 
 
Employer ID: 132820 
Employer Name: Robert L. 
Employer Location: Wakefield, QC - Colbert 
Post Date: 11 Days ago  
 
  Join now to access this job offer contact details  
 
  Job Description
 
Multi-generational farmstead seeking the help of a support worker who can assist in the care of our senior mother (79 years old). There will be a lot of support within the family available to the care worker, we are ultimately looking for someone who can be a friendly companion to our mother and help her manage her needs.

We are open to a variety of living arrangements, but would prefer live in. A large/recently finished one bedroom apartment on our property (approximately 800 square feet) will be provided. Apartment includes a large open concept living room/full kitchen (oven, fridge, microwave), 3 piece bathroom, and spacious bedroom with large closet. Could come fully furnished or unfurnished. Caregiver would pay for hydro/internet (about $150 per month) and their own groceries.

Driverís license is required, a vehicle (2007 Lexus) will be provided for any work related transportation needs and light personal use.

Must like animals.

Job is paid on an annual salary that includes 3 weeks paid vacation (15), paid sick days (5) and ten (10) yearly paid holidays.

Paid holidays: New Yearís Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Victoria Day, Canada Day, August Civic Holiday, Labour Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and Boxing Day

About our family:

Paternal Grandmother (receiver of care) has her own studio apartment attached to the home. Mostly independent but requires companionship and help managing her day to day needs. She has been living in current apartment for 2 years. Sadly she was widowed in November 2019. She is a devote Roman Catholic and her faith is a central part of her life. Her hobbies include baking (her pies are renowned), reading, swimming and listing to music (especially music from her childhood home in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia). She has history of anxiety and other mental health challenges, but takes medication to mitigate and has been doing very well for the past several months. Building trust and providing reassurance is key to this role. We would ideally want someone with some training in dealing with the mental health of aging seniors, we would be willing to pay for additional training as well.

Parents - Mother is an artist/entrepreneur. Father is a marketing manager. Both parents primarily work from home (even under normal non-pandemic circumstances). Both are deeply involved in nurturing the emotional well being of the children. We are a progressive and inclusive family that practices a gentle parenting style that focuses on building independence, respecting a child's dignity and fostering curiosity.
Kids - Daughter is a precocious, bright, determined, and hilarious 7 year old. Son is a sweet, playful, dancing, exploring 4 year old. Both will be at school in September between 7:30 AM and 3:00 PM).

Maternal Grandmother and Grandfather also have their own apartment in the bottom unit of the home. They are a friendly, independent, helpful and busy couple.

Our home:

Located outside the tourist village of Wakefield, known for its arts and natural beauty. Home is a beautiful, bright, open, and modern 8 bedroom home with multiple units on a 100-acre lot (filled with streams, fields, hills and woods). Home is filled with natural light and gorgeous views of the mountain and forest. We have a very large vegetable garden and will be expanding with other crops in our fields.

Pets - loving animals is a big plus. We have cats, a very sweet border collie and a lovable golden retriever. We also have a deer refuge on the property with a dozen beautiful and tame exotic deer as well as two talkative goats.

Key Responsibilities

- Providing companionship to Paternal Grandmother.
- Transporting to church/appointments/outings (visiting husband's grave).
- Managing Paternal Grandmother's medications and appointment schedule. This includes preparing a weekly blister pack of medication and keeping an eye that meds are being taken.
- Supporting Paternal Grandmother with her technology needs (she is learning to use an iPad and write emails to her friends) and sometimes needs help using her various remotes for TV.
- Helping Paternal Grandmother with setting up her apartment
- Weekly meal prep, keeping Paternal Grandmother's kitchen stocked/organized and preparing lunch. Paternal Grandmother makes her own breakfast and eats dinner with the family.
- Helping Paternal Grandmother with her hobbies (especially baking).
- Shopping/errands for Paternal Grandmother
- Light housework/tidying 
 
 
 
Position Type:
Live in or Live out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
As Long as Needed 
Valid driver's license required:
Yes 
Automobile use:
Family can provide car for use on the job 
 
Start Date:
September 07, 2020 
Flexible start date.
Salary:
$3400 - $3600/month 
Smoking status desired:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
I offer the following accommodations for live in position:
   Guesthouse
 
   Private bath
 
   Shared use of car
 
   Exclusive use of car
 
 
 
 
 
 
Caregiver Jobs & Elderly Care Jobs in Wakefield