Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: July 18 
 
 
 
 
Work Schedule
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning       
 Afternoon      
 Evening         
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Experienced Care Needed for Woman with ALS  Job ID: 134239 
 
Employer ID: 173245 
Employer Name: Dorah B. 
Employer Location: Vancouver, BC 
Post Date: March 19 
 
  Join now to access this job offer contact details  
 
  Job Description
 
I am looking for a care aid for my mother who has ALS.

About her: 70 years old, living in kitsilano with my father (married 49 years). She has lots of friends and visitors who come to see her a few times a week. She is very loving and will want to know everything about you and your family. She loves to chat (even though its getting harder now).

Two years ago she was diagnosed with ALS. We are not sure how long she has but we are looking for a commitment of around 6 months with possibility to extend should her disease allow.

About family: My father works Tuesday to Friday from around 11am to 6pm. He spends Mondays at home with her and sometimes for respite. I am their only child, I am 28 years old and live in West Vancouver.

Schedule:

We currently are using an agency and it's extremely disorganized and ineffective and expensive. We want to find someone who can be a part of the family and be there with her consistently.
You need to have experience with in home care and with people who are palliative or end of life.
She can still speak but her voice is getting weaker.
She loves to laugh and talk, she wants someone who is confident, kind, attentive and doesnt need to be told what to do.

We are currently looking for Wednesday Thursday Friday 9am to 7pm and Saturday from 11am to 5pm.

Duties:
house management (writing shopping lists, maintaining order etc)
preparing meals and feeding (heating up, we have a chef that will prepare meals each week)
bathroom assistance (she needs help transferring from bed to the commode)
bathing occassionally
transfers/ eventually a lift/hoist that we have waiting for when she needs it
help with dressing
help with her exercises and stretches every morning
nebulizer each morning
use of breathing machine for day time (switch from night to day in the morning)
light housework

Please let me know if you are interested in the position and what qualifications you have.

My parents live in Vancouver (Kitsilano, very close to transit)

We are hoping to fill the position ASAP

 
 
 
 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
As Long as Needed 
Valid driver's license required:
No 
Automobile use:
Not Applicable 
 
Start Date:
March 19, 2019 
Salary:
$17/Hour or $2200 - $2400/month 
Smoking status desired:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
No 
 
 
 
 
 
Caregiver Jobs & Elderly Care Jobs in Vancouver