Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes

 

 

 
Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: Today 
 
 
 
 
Work Schedule
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning       
 Afternoon      
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
Flexible. He will attend program three days, (not Mondays) If that is all you want that's fine. If you want more hours, we will have additional available at our home (5 minutes from centre) if desired. 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
One on One Support Worker/Companion/Caregiver  Job ID: 137895 
 
Employer ID: 19871 
Employer Name: Lori M. 
Employer Location: Caledon, ON 
Post Date: 2 Days Ago 
 
  Join now to access this job offer contact details  
 
  Job Description
 
We are looking for an assistant for our 21 year old son, who has cerebral palsy.
He will be attending an adult day program 3 days a week, very close to our home.(White Birch Adult Day program in Palgrave, which has a very good reputation) The centre has staff, but we feel that our son would be better off with a one on one worker for extra support. This will help him participate in the activities, and make sure his needs are all met in a timely matter.
The hours of the day program are 8:30 - 3:30, but we may be somewhat flexible in this.We are not 100 percent sure which days he will go, but three days total. (And he will likely go a little later than 8:30)
If you are looking for more hours than three days, we could provide some work here in our home with our son, on the days that he doesn't go to the program.
At the centre, you will be responsible for staying with him, and helping him participate in the activities that everyone is doing. You will be there to help make the activities fun for him, and to redirect him, if he loses interest. You will need to help him with his lunch, and cleaning up etc. , and any personal needs.
Our son has cerebral palsy, and a global delay. He uses a wheelchair for mobility, and requires lifting using a Hoyer lift, as he cannot bear weight. He is funny and a pleasure to be around. He is very sociable, and loves to be around others, in a controlled situation. (he often doesn't like large crowds, like concerts or movies etc)
He has enjoyed his class in high school, where he was in a planning for independence class at our local high school. Now he has graduated, and needs to find a meaningful way to fill his days, in the company of others.
Billy is verbal, but his speech needs getting used to. We understand mostly everything he says, but it can take a little while to get accustomed to his way of speaking. Girls that have worked with him before have mostly been able to catch on in a couple of days, and after a couple weeks are experts too!!
He has a keen sense of humour, a fabulous smile, and has a kind, empathetic soul, that will make an impact on yours.
No specific experience is needed, as I can train you for this before you go to work at the centre. What is needed, is an honest, reliable, energetic, fun loving, empathetic person, who is willing to take on this challenge, and help to make our son's life better.
As I said, there is some flexibility in this job, so if you think it might be for you, drop me a line. I will be interviewing shortly. We are hoping to find someone who is looking for a longer term situation......not just a few months. Change is difficult for Billy, and we want to make this transition into adulthood as easy as possible for him.
 
 
 
 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
As Long as Needed 
Valid driver's license required:
Yes 
Automobile use:
Required to use own car 
 
Start Date:
September 07, 2019 
We will discuss start options. The program doesn't start until September, but we can do some training here at home prior to that if you are available.
Salary:
Negotiable salary 
to be discussed.
Smoking status desired:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Jobs & Babysitting Jobs in Caledon