Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us |  Tel: 888-369-8819 |  Testimonials |  Nanny Taxes



Find a   within   from Postal code    Advanced Search  
  Back to search results  
Last Visit: 6 Days ago  
Work Schedule
  M T W Th F Sa Su
Primary requirement: Occasionally babysitting... I train for karate on Monday and Friday evenings, if you could be available for that sometimes, that would be great. There may be a few "PD" days on Fridays (days off for his school) that I may need help with, so if you could help out longer on those Fridays, that would be awesome!  


Part Time Childcare in Brentwood (Near U Of C)  Job ID: 80075 
Employer ID: 66692 
Employer Name: Joanne B. 
Employer Location: Calgary, AB - Benson Road NW 
Post Date: 27 Days ago  
  Join now to access this job offer contact details  
  Job Description

I'm a physics professor, and I have a wonderfully bright 14 yo son. I am recently divorced, though on reasonable terms with my son's father. That said, I am looking for someone I can ask to come and spend time with my son, when his dad isn't able to, and I have a deadline or another event I need to attend. Obviously because of his age, it isn't really "babysitting" - more like being a big sister/brother or mentor.

Just so you know... I am not a 'normal' physicists by any means. I like to hike, cross-country ski, and I am much more talkative than a typical physics professor. :-) My son loves the outdoors, karate, and of course, video games!

My son is just finishing grade 9. He is friendly and chatty, and generally a happy guy. I always find this amazing, considering he has multiple anaphylactic food allergies along with mild asthma. On the other hand, his health issues have led us on the road to eating primarily organic and being aware of indoor air quality (through things like eco-friendly cleaners, not wearing perfume or strongly scented products (including cleaning products like "Tide"), etc.). We are fortunate in that he has never had an anaphylactic reaction, in part because we have been careful and aware of his environment. He had severe eczema when he was a baby, which led us to explore alternative medicine including homeopathy (though I still rely on and appreciate conventional medicine!). I am fascinated by psychology and the development of children (and yet I am a physicist?!?). Anyway, that is best left for another conversation....

I am looking for a reliable "occasional" nanny/babysitter/big-sibling for him. He's at the age when he doesn't really need someone home with him, but for long periods (2-3 hours or more), I'd rather him not be home by himself. I would love to be in contact with someone who would like to mentor him, take him for walks, and hang out with him, so he's not just on the computer when I have to work late, or if I have an event to go to.

One important note: my son has been diagnosed with mild aspergers. This means he is very gifted (he is in the 97th-percentile for working memory, and 98th percentile for language ability), but has minor challenges in motor coordination, and he has a uniquely different way of seeing the world. It means that someone working with him must be patient (especially with physical things like swimming, or writing homework), and not be intimidated by his memory or vocabulary. He is a loveable, huggable, amazing kid, but sometimes he communicates like a 30-year-old lawyer, so be careful what you promise him, since he will remember! :-)

If you have some experience with French, that would be awesome as well, as our son is in French Immersion. That said, if you don't know French, but otherwise think we'd fit, I'm great with that too!

If you are interested, please do contact me (email works best). I am looking forward to meeting you!


I have the following number of children:
My child(ren) are the following age(s): over 10 years of age  
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
less than 20 hours/week 
Position Duration:
As Long as Needed 
Valid driver's license required:
Automobile use:
Not Applicable 
Start Date:
May 01, 2019 
Whenever we find the right person! :-)
$15/Hour or Negotiable salary 
The hourly wage is also negotiable. :-)
Smoking status desired:
Comfortable with pets:
Nanny Jobs & Babysitting Jobs in Calgary